The Leisure Society Announce Second Album, UK Tour In May + New Video Starring Mark Heap

The Leisure Society has announced details of the release of their new album, a UK headline tour in May plus a new video starring Spaced/Big Train actor Mark Heap.

‘Into The Murky Water’, the 8-piece symphonic-style pop band’s second album, will be released on 2nd May 2011 through Full Time Hobby. This is preceded by the first single off the album ‘This Phantom Life’ on the 25th April.

The band will also be playing a number of dates in May following the release of the album.

The full list of dates are as follows:


3rd Brighton Komedia

4th Bristol Thekla

5th Nottingham Rescue Rooms

7th Leeds Brudenell Social Club

8th Glasgow King Tuts

9th Manchester Band on the Wall

10th London Union Chapel

Tickets for the shows are on sale now via

In addition, The Leisure Society have made a video for ‘This Phantom Life’ starring comedy actor Mark Heap and directed by Tom Haines (previous credits include Tunng, Paul Smith, Wild Beasts, + Phosphorescent).

Watch this clip here with Mark as a new age guru attempting to induct the band into his countryside retreat:

The band released their debut album, ‘The Sleeper’, originally through the Willkommen label in March 2009. It was later picked up and re-issued with a limited edition EP through Full Time Hobby in the autumn of the same year.

The album resulted in two Ivor Novello nominations for the tracks ‘Last Of The Melting Snow’ in 2009 and ‘Save It For Someone Who Cares’ in 2010 and scooped Rough Trade’s Album of the Year as well as iTunes best Singer/Songwriter album in 2009.

The Leisure Society came together when fellow Burton-Upon-Trent exiles Nick Hemming and Christian Hardy found themselves sharing a flat in London. Nick had previously played in bands in Burton with Paddy Considine and Shane Meadows and would later contribute scores for Meadows’s films ‘A Room For Romeo Brass’ and ‘Dead Man’s Shoes’ under the Leisure Society moniker.

With a permanent line-up – Mike Siddell, Will Calderbank, Helen Whitaker, Amy May, Bas Hankins & Darren Bonehill – drawn from The Wilkommen Collective, the summer of 2010 saw the band play a number of acclaimed festival performances at Glastonbury, Richard Thompson’s Meltdown at the QEH and Port Eliot in Cornwall. The band will be shortly announcing festival dates for 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: