NEWS: Bon Iver

26 04 2011

‘New Album’ 

Bon Iver, the musical project of Justin Vernon, has confirmed the release of a new album, Bon Iver, on June 20th via 4AD. Featuring ten new songs penned by Vernon, the album attempts to expand the group’s sonic palette beyond the acoustics of the debut. Bon Iver is a landscape of electric guitars, intricate keys, and horn and string sections, which retains the choirs and densely layered vocals that Bon Iver is known for. 

Written over three years, the album was recorded and mixed at April Base Studios, a former veterinarian’s clinic in Fall Creek, WI, converted into a recording studio by Vernon and his brother. Bon Iver regulars Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan contributed vocals, drums and production; Rob Moose (Antony and the Johnsons, The National) helped with arranging and strings; and Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek provided processing. The album also features the pedal steel of Greg Leisz (Lucinda Williams, Bill Frisell) and a horn section including Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire), Mike Lewis (Andrew Bird, Happy Apple), and C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan Stevens). 

In advance of the album’s release, you can catch a glimpse of the new music by watching the 50 second teaser video posted on Bon Iver’s website last week 

Bon Iver Track Listing:

1. Perth

2. Minnesota, WI

3. Holocene

4. Towers

5. Michicant

6. Hinnom, TX

7. Wash.

8. Calgary

9. Lisbon, OH

10. Beth/Rest

Edited by Joe Crouch



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: